Leed-certified sustainability

Designing the future
  • Location
    Former Falck and Railway station, North Milan Metropolitan Area, Sesto San Giovanni Municipality
  • Country
  • Customer
    Barreca & La Varra Studio of Architecture
  • Team
    Politecnica Ingegneria ed Architettura Soc. Coop.
  • Service
    LEED® consultancy, technical and financial feasibility, detailed and final designs
  • Assignment
    Fire prevention
  • Project
    2021 - ongoing

Cluster 5 in Milano Sesto: green areas, residential neighbourhoods, a new railway station, a health & research centre, squares, retail and office spaces in the former Falck Areas in Milan deserving Leed Gold certification will get it with Politecnica.

Cluster 5's design anticipates and responds to new housing needs through a green and sustainable approach that respects and reflects the emerging needs dictated by ongoing climate change.

Politecnica is the guarantor of the procedure for obtaining LEED certification at Gold level. LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is the sustainable building assessment system developed by the United States Green Building Council (USGBC), the most internationally recognised.


The Project

MilanoSesto is one of the largest urban regeneration projects in Europe. The project covers an area of over 1.5 million square metres and will accommodate over 50,000 residents and city users. 

The masterplan signed by Norman Forster's studio envisages the transformation of the former Falck areas, to convert an area with an old industrial vocation into a system of open spaces based on advanced models of social inclusion and environmental sustainability, designed for soft mobility (pedestrian and bicycle). 

Cluster 5, designed by the architectural firm Barreca & La Varra, comprises the two social housing buildings UMI 4 and UMI 5, an affiliated private crèche, the commercial area on the ground floor and the remaining area dedicated to residential services (common areas).

Contribution to the SDGs goals

  • The LEED rating system requires certified projects to meet a minimum level of energy performance and to use building-level energy measurement, tracking energy use and identifying opportunities for energy savings. Together, these prerequisites assure a minimum level of energy efficiency in all projects that achieve LEED certification. Cluster 5 has been certified in the Energy and Atmosphere category, the most relevant credit category that the LEED system recognises: crucially, it provides an incentive to increase energy performance beyond the minimum required.

  • Creating safe, resilient and inclusive cities around the world: the primary goal of the rating system is to transform the way buildings are designed, constructed and managed, enabling a socially responsible, healthy and prosperous environment that improves the quality of life for all. For example through access to affordable and accessible transport services.